Walk My Way – Volume Four Curated by Nick Vander, Orbit577, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

Dear friends

Covid-19 is dangerously impacting the social-economic category of musicians. No concerts, poor political and social consideration, uncertain earnings. As a consequence, an ever-growing number of musicians, especially those from the experimental area, are trying to promote their music on BandCamp in digital format only. It is increasingly difficult for me to follow and review this incredible flow of music. I therefore decided to open this section on my blog Neuguitars where I propose music in digital format that I consider particularly interesting and worthy of attention. I hope you like it. Let’s support musicians. They need it.

Andrea Aguzzi

Walk My Way – Volume Four Curated by Nick Vander, Orbit577, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog


Walk My Way is a fervently collective project in a time of individuation, testament to both the incredible musical range of the guitar, as well as the imaginative possibility of guitarists around the world. The pandemic upended the way that musicians create and perform, turning a previously collective artistic practice into an unavoidably solitary one as artists were forced into their homes for lockdowns. This compilation is born directly from the conditions of our current historical moment, emphasizing music’s potential for connectivity, arranged through remote recordings, without a prescribed structure, and capturing their most current work.

The project was defined by collectivity and connectivity, bringing together artists from different backgrounds, taking advantage of a remote gathering that may not have been possible without these circumstances. The series features 49 guitar players, with 32 different nationalities, from 6 continents, and representing every musical background, offering an impressive display of the guitar’s possibilities and the artists’ deeply imaginative instincts. They represent diverse regional styles and creative preferences, playing both traditional compositions and hugely experimental work. Tracks feature careening guitar solos and classically structured bridges, on harmonious major chord structures and textural, discordant riffs, exploring the full possibility of the guitar’s range.

1. Janet Feder (USA) – Distance to Home

2. Martin Vishnick (UK) – Sonic Memoire

3. Ikbal Lubys (Indonesia) – Friction to Archaic

4. Edward J. Gibbs (USA) – Lepidoptera

5. Joshua Weitzel (Germany) – New Vibrations

6. Guram Machavariani (Georgia) – Ethereal

7. Eric Wong (Hong Kong/USA) – In Luture

8. Garth Erasmus (South Africa) – Amplitudes

9. Bill Horist (USA) – Ediacaran Still Life, All In

releases April 3, 2021

1- Acoustic baritone prepared guitar, no digital Fxs by Janet Feder. Recorded by Joe Shepard on July 31, 2020
2- Classical guitar, plus pedal and recording by Martin Vishnick on July 6, 2020
3- Classical prepared guitar, no digital processing and recording by Ikbal Lubys on July 14, 20200
4- Acoustic guitar and recording by Edward J. Gibbs on July 5, 2020
5- Acoustic guitar, vibration sources and recording by Joshua Weitzel on July 9, 2020
6- Electric guitar, electronics and recording by Guram Machavariani on July 1, 2020
7- Acoustic guitar and recording by Eric Wong on August 8, 2020
8- Zahn guitar, metafugue process and recording by Garth Erasmus on August 9, 2020
9- Prepared guitar and recording by Bill Horist on September 1, 2020

Orbit577 is part of 577 Records
Brooklyn, New York
©+℗ 2021