Walk My Way – Volume Five Curated by Nick Vander, Orbit577, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

Dear friends

Covid-19 is dangerously impacting the social-economic category of musicians. No concerts, poor political and social consideration, uncertain earnings. As a consequence, an ever-growing number of musicians, especially those from the experimental area, are trying to promote their music on BandCamp in digital format only. It is increasingly difficult for me to follow and review this incredible flow of music. I therefore decided to open this section on my blog Neuguitars where I propose music in digital format that I consider particularly interesting and worthy of attention. I hope you like it. Let’s support musicians. They need it.

Andrea Aguzzi

Walk My Way – Volume Five Curated by Nick Vander, Orbit577, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog


Walk My Way is a fervently collective project in a time of individuation, testament to both the incredible musical range of the guitar, as well as the imaginative possibility of guitarists around the world. The pandemic upended the way that musicians create and perform, turning a previously collective artistic practice into an unavoidably solitary one as artists were forced into their homes for lockdowns. This compilation is born directly from the conditions of our current historical moment, emphasizing music’s potential for connectivity, arranged through remote recordings, without a prescribed structure, and capturing their most current work.
The project was defined by collectivity and connectivity, bringing together artists from different backgrounds, taking advantage of a remote gathering that may not have been possible without these circumstances. The series features 49 guitar players, with 32 different nationalities, from 6 continents, and representing every musical background, offering an impressive display of the guitar’s possibilities and the artists’ deeply imaginative instincts. They represent diverse regional styles and creative preferences, playing both traditional compositions and hugely experimental work. Tracks feature careening guitar solos and classically structured bridges, on harmonious major chord structures and textural, discordant riffs, exploring the full possibility of the guitar’s range.

  1.  Harvey Valdes (USA) – Of That Which Is One
  2.  Antonio Guillen (Spain) – Un Cielo Falces
  3.  Boris Belica (Slovakia) – Glimpse
  4.  Sandy Ewen (USA) – Untlited
  5.  Denis Sorokin (Russia) – Switched on Mic
  6.  Arvind Ganga (Netherlands) – Kaumari
  7.  Pengboon Don (Thailand) – The Strange Galaxy
  8.  Josue Amador (Mexico/Netherlands) – Two Colors
  9.  Todd Clouser (USA/Mexico) – Talkin` Mx City
  10.  Mohammed Ashraf (Egypt/Italy) – Let’s Stay in and Listen to Shoegaze

releases May 1, 2021

1- 12 strings electric guitar and recording by Harvey Valdes on October 21, 2020
2- Acoustic guitar, electronics and recording by Antonio Guillen on September 17, 2020
3- Electric guitar, electronics and recording by Boris Belica on June 29, 2020
4- Prepared guitar, pan pedal and no fxs by Sandy Ewen. Recorded by Ryan Edwards on October 24, 2020
5- Classical guitar, mandolina, electronics and recording by Denis Sorokin on August 9, 2020
6- Guitar, metal rod, digital fxs and recording by Arvind Ganga on July 13, 2020
7- Electric guitar, electronics and recording by Pengboon Don on June 29, 2020
8- Electric guitar, noise and recording by Josue Amador on July 20, 2020
9- Voice, electric guitar and recording by Todd Clouser on August 14, 2020
10- Electric guitar, digital processing and recording by Mohammed Ashraf on September 26, 2020

Orbit577 is part of 577 Records
Brooklyn, New York
©+℗ 2021