Miniatures 2020 by by Fred Frith and 123 other Artists (all playing 1 minute masterpieces), Bandcamp, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

Dear friends

Covid-19 is dangerously impacting the social-economic category of musicians. No concerts, poor political and social consideration, uncertain earnings. As a consequence, an ever-growing number of musicians, especially those from the experimental area, are trying to promote their music on BandCamp in digital format only. It is increasingly difficult for me to follow and review this incredible flow of music. I therefore decided to open this section on my blog Neuguitars where I propose music in digital format that I consider particularly interesting and worthy of attention. I hope you like it. Let’s support musicians. They need it.

Andrea Aguzzi

Best known for his guitar work, multi-instrumentalist, composer & improvisor Fred Frith was a founding member of the English avant-rock group Henry Cow, as well as Art Bears, Massacre, & Skeleton Crew. He has collaborated w/ musicians incl Robert Wyatt, the Residents, John Zorn, Brian Eno, Mike Patton.

Miniatures 2020 by by Fred Frith and 123 other Artists (all playing 1 minute masterpieces), Bandcamp, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

Miniatures 2020 | Fred Frith and 123 other Artists (all playing 1 minute masterpieces) | Fred Frith (

120 artists were invited to make a one-minute composition: includes: Fred Frith, The Residents, Chris Cutler, Stuart Lee, Billy Bragg, David Thomas, The Stranglers, Soft Machine, King Crimson, John Otway, Steve Moore, Peter Blegvad, Henry Kaiser, Atilla the Stockbroker, Terry Riley, Half Japanese, Bob Drake, Alternative TV, Ukelele Orchestra of Great Brit. A box of variety & delights in DVD case w/ 68pg book.

Third in a cult series: first Morgan Fisher’s now legendary 1980 classic; second the update in 2000 and now Volume three – an even further extended homage to Morgan’s minimal but cornucopian concept: invite a selected body of artists to make a one minute composition and then group them in through-listening blocks.

Includes The Residents, Fred Frith, Stuart Lee, Billy Bragg, David Thomas, John Otway, Steve Moore, Peter Blegvad, Henry Kaiser, Atilla the Stockbroker, Terry Riley, Half Japanese, Tom Robinson, Bob Drake, Alternative TV, The Ukelele Orchestra of Great Britain and members of Van der Graaf Generator, Curved Air, Zoviet France, Stomu Yamashta’s Red Buddha Theatre, Soft Machine, Fairport Convention, The Blockheads, The Stranglers, John’s Children, Alternative TV, Caravan, The Damned, King Crimson…  more


released May 8, 2021

Full list of contributors:
A Powdered Theorem, About Now, Adam Absent, Alahuta, Alan J Stuart, Albie Donnelly’s Supercharge, Alternative TV, Andy Ellison, Angel Corpus Christi, Apartment House, Attila The Stockbroker, Barry Lamb, Basil Kirchin, Ben Hewerdine, Bendle & Dean “Speedwell” Brodrick, The Bevis Frond, Big Al Davies, Billy Bragg, Blabbermouth, Bob Drake, Boo Hewerdine, Bringers Of Change , Bruce Woolley, Census Of Hallucinations, Chris Cutler, Clive PiG, Das Rad, David Cross And Mori, David Cunningham, David Jackson, David Thomas, dilate., Dylan Howe, Elena Theodorou, Emperor Rhubarb, Eyeless In Gaza, Ezio, Findlay Napier, Francesco Paolo Paladino & Ka, Fred Frith, Frenzid Melon, Gary Clail Soundsystem, Geoff Leigh & Cristiana Vignatelli Bruni, Geoffrey Richardson, Grand Hotel ,Greta Aurora, Hadar Manor, Half Japanese and Dot Wiggin, Hanging Freud, Hazel Jones, Helen McCookerybook, Henry Kaiser, Henry Priestman, Ihrsan, The Intercontinental Philharmonic Orchestra & Royal Choir, Isatta Sheriff, The Jaded Tea Time Orchestra, Jake Burns, Jasun Martz, Jayne Mason, Jim Tetlow, Joby Burgess, John Dunbar, John Ellis, John Greaves , John Otway, John Simms’ Light Trails, Jon Owen, Kev Hegan, Kevin Hewick, Lester Square, Lobby Lud & The Luddites, Lorraine Bowen, Magda Archer & The Cola Cubes, Martin Newell, Martin Stephen, Masonic Kitchen, Matmos, Matt Dangerfield & Margaret Barry, Mike Adcock, The Miniatures Family, Mitch Friedman, Mr B The Gentleman Rhymer, MX-80 Sound, Neil Luck, The Neu Psodyms , Nick Haeffner, Pariah State Building, Peter Blegvad, Phil Doleman, Pompadour, R. Stevie Moore, Rapoon, The Residents, Ric Sanders, Robert Le Plar, Rosie Abbott, Sean WO Smith, Sensible Gray Cells, Sherwood & Pinch, Shiva Feshareki, Shop Girls, Sigh Figh, Simon Steensland, Six Armed Man, Sonja Kristina & Robert Norton, Steve Johnson, Stewart Lee, Stuart Moxham, Tears Of Sirens, Terry Riley & Sara Miyamoto, Tom Robinson, Toyah with Simon Darlow and Bobby Willcox, Two Headed Emperor, The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain, Unfolk, Wavis O’Shave, William Hayter, Yumi Hara.