solo improvisations III by Jo Jena, Bandcamp, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

Dear friends

Covid-19 is dangerously impacting the social-economic category of musicians. No concerts, poor political and social consideration, uncertain earnings. As a consequence, an ever-growing number of musicians, especially those from the experimental area, are trying to promote their music on BandCamp in digital format only. It is increasingly difficult for me to follow and review this incredible flow of music. I therefore decided to open this section on my blog Neuguitars where I propose music in digital format that I consider particularly interesting and worthy of attention. I hope you like it. Let’s support musicians. They need it.

Andrea Aguzzi

Jo Jena started playing the guitar at the age of 10 in berlin (the wall had just come down). His teachers were Arion Levy and Michael Gechter. 1 of 100 guitarists with Rhys Chatham. recipient of berklee scholarship. participant of ensemble modern junior forum. emphasis on improvisation, ambient & avantgarde. independent release of music recordings via “instauratio minima musicarum“ since 2004

solo improvisations III, Bandcamp, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

solo improvisations III | Jo Jena (

a series of solo guitar improvisations. for this release I have set myself the following rules (“dogmas”):

– arrange a composition of black american music
– complement it with free ambient soundscapes
– conclude with two „free solo“ improvisations
– play each piece live in one take*
– no further overdubs are added
– the use of a live looper is allowed
– the played material will – if ever – be very minimally edited
– in case of loops, this includes shortening the built-up phase
– only some very gently, classical type mastering is applied

* pieces 1-3 were played in one take throughout.

this album is dedicated to the loving memory of eugen hahn (1941-2020).


released June 15, 2021

jo jena – 6 & 7 string electric guitars, fx, guitar synth

played, designed, recorded, mixed & mastered by jj; recorded at studio “raumstation”, frankfurt am main

thanks to recordjet, adam glenski from easy song licensing, luthier matthias schindehütte, marc petri, madeleine and aquiles from denkbar, lofileif, dan arcamone, michael gechter, arion levy and bö for hints or support at various points of the project. special thanks to e. for great support at every such point and beyond.


“litha” by armando anthony corea, copyright universal music corporation

“esp” by wayne shorter, copyright kobalt music pub america I o/b/o miyako music

“afro blue” by ramon mongo santamaria, copyright BMG bumblebee o/b/o mongo music inc.

“equinox” by john coltrane, copyright jowcol music llc

“jean-pierre” by miles davis, copyright kobalt songs music publish o/b/o jazz horn music corp.

licenced content under IDBLM 343957

instauratio minima musicarum 2021