Numbers Maker by Desertion Trio, Cuneiform Records, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

Desertion Trio are a Philadelphia / New York base experimental jazz trio led by guitarist Nick Millevoi.

NPR Music says, “When Nick Millevoi plays the guitar, it’s like a rocket darting skyward between clouds.” Pitchfork has described his sound as, “Music that seeks the sun by exploding toward it.” Brooklyn Vegan calls Millevoi, “An attacking chessmaster, tossing out chameleonesque scales and runs.” 

Numbers Maker by Desertion Trio, Cuneiform Records, 2021 on #neuguitars #blog

Numbers Maker | Desertion Trio | Cuneiform Records (


From the first notes of Numbers Maker, the third album by Desertion Trio, it is clear that the band is leaning into a new direction. While the band has always been a three-piece, Desertion Trio have brought along friends on their previous records — making Numbers Maker their first true trio release and giving the album a distilled and darker edge that hits a little differently.

Although Desertion Trio is following a new musical path, the sound of the band — described by the Philadelphia Inquirer as “exploratory, distorted, and warped” — is still recognizable, using angular riffage, tumbling grooves and a debt to the darker side of Miles Davis’ electric bands, Funkadelic guitar-maestro Eddie Hazel, and oblique fisheye references to 1960s spy and surf guitar themes, while the collective always is shooting for the stars with sprawling and effected tones.

In order to celebrate the spirit of a power trio in its natural state, Desertion Trio recorded Numbers Maker in front of a live audience at New Haven, CT’s Firehouse 12 studio. The result is a detailed studio recording that finds the band all-in with no overdubs and no re-takes, capturing the energy of a great live ensemble.

“Numbers Maker is intense and unrelenting. Its single-minded focus summarizes where the trio has been, albeit with a new…  more


released April 23, 2021

Nick Millevoi – guitar
Johnny DeBlase – bass
Jason Nazary – drums

Recorded live at Firehouse 12 on October 18, 2019 by Greg DiCrosta.

Mixed and mastered at Menegroth by Colin Marston.

All songs by Nick Millevoi, copyright 2020 Circlesperanto ASCAP, except “Taboo” by Margrita Lecuona and Al Stillman.