Fractal Sextet by Fractal Sextet, 2022, Bandcamp on #neuguitars #blog #FractalSextet

Guitarist Jon Durant brings a unique sense of texture and melody to his instrument. His distinctive “cloud guitar” soundscapes and engaging lead work have graced numerous CD recordings and film soundtracks. Collaborators include Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel), Vinny Sabatino, Jerry Leake, Cartn Lin, Ray Greene (Tower of Power) and many others. 

Music | Jon Durant (

Fractal Sextet by Fractal Sextet, 2022, Bandcamp on #neuguitars #blog #FractalSextet

Fractal Sextet | Fractal Sextet | Jon Durant (

Piloted by the singular approach of Swiss composer and guitarist Stephan Thelen, best known for minimalist groove band Sonar and his collaboration with Kronos Quartet, Fractal Sextet is an aptly named meeting of musical minds who, at Stephan’s invitation, have created an album worthy of deep listening and showcasing a remarkable synergy between all the participants.

Despite a highly disciplined and seemingly restrictive rhythmic formatting, and the interdependence of each instrumentalist, the Fractal Sextet material allows each player a remarkable musical freedom and the album displays a highly developed sense of collective, ensemble improvisation. With each musical element having an equal weight, the traditional sense of soloist/accompanist is superceded by an overall sense of communality across the album’s five lengthy tracks.

Perhaps a comparison could be made with Krautrock legends Can, or “Beat” era King Crimson whose internal discipline, trance like compositions and strong group aesthetic is mirrored in the Fractal Sextet dynamic.

Exploring infinite variations on never ending patterns, Fractal Sextet displays a beguiling and inviting hypnotic landscape, which reveals multiple layers and ever more intricate unfolding connections throughout.


released September 2, 2022

Fabio Anile: Piano, Electric Piano, Synth & Sampled Instruments
Jon Durant: Fretted, Fretless & Cloud Guitar
Colin Edwin: Bass Guitar
Yogev Gabay: Drums
Andi Pupato: Percussion
Stephan Thelen: Guitars, E-Bow, Fractal Delays & Programming